Mistress of my Destiny

Wipe our Debt

Wipe our Debt (Photo credit: Images_of_Money)

So, it happened.  Obama was re-elected president and many peope are unhappy about it.  Personally, and if you’ll pardon a moment of crudity, I was pretty certain that, whoever was elected, the American people were in for a major butt-screwing.  Between Obama’s spend-happy ways and Romney’s reputation for outsourcing jobs, I wasn’t seeing any end to the current economic mess the country’s in.  Because I frankly didn’t trust either candidate to turn the economy around, I started planning months ago how best to keep my business and household going, even during the economic mess.

First, it doesn’t matter who is in office, and it doesn’t matter who is sitting in Congress.  The bottom line is, only I control my money.  I control my spending and my debts.  I control how I spend my money and how I save it.  The country might be in debt, but that doesn’t mean I have to be.  The government may decide to spend money recklessly, but nothing and no one is making me do that.  You see, just because the government may do something or the majority of my fellow Americans may do something does not mean I have to make those same choices.  (Yes, debt is a choice.)

Second, I control my business.  I own a small business, and the products I make are made in America, in a small lab in North Carolina.  While I, as a citizen business owner in my state and my nation, am responsible for paying my share of taxes and fees, ultimately, I am in charge of dictating how I will run my business.  I’m the one who decides my business structure and determines my plan.  All too often I’ve heard small business owners complain about how the economy is hurting their businesses.  Hey!  Guess what?  I’m a small business owner who’s running her business in these same troubled economic times, and my business has shown slow but steady growth over the past five years and is doing very well.  The economy shouldn’t be an excuse for business failure; it should be the catalyst for business growth!

Third, I’m responsible for leaving my daughters a legacy of success.  A lot of political pundits will say that our children and our children’s children are inheriting the debt of the current administration, and that’s probably true.  It’s no secret that the national debt has risen astronomically in the past four years.  However, that doesn’t mean that I can’t teach my children wise asset management and guide them in biblical principles relating to money and debt.  Seeing us on our financial peace journey will hopefully empower them to be good stewards of what they have.  I want to leave my children a fabulous legacy – not just wealth, but a right attitude toward money and how much good it can do to serve others.

I encourage and empower you to decide what you’re going to do in order to take care of your future.  Taxes are outside of our control, but they don’t have to drive us under or prevent us from getting ahead.

Leave a Reply

