“Winter Is Coming”

Winter Is Coming

Winter Is Coming (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m currently reading A Feast for Crows, the fourth book of the Song of Fire and Ice series by George R. R. Martin.  In the first book, Game of Thrones, the reader learns the saying for House Stark is “Winter is coming.”  At the same time, I’m also reading Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey.  Strangely enough, these two very different books have become related in my mind.

As my family and I get intense again about our journey toward financial peace, I’m being more proactive myself about contributing to the general emergency fund.  Part of the profits from my business are going to pay myself, and this money is going into a money market account.  I also get paid monthly for some online work that I do.  This is where my thoughts started getting dicey.

Back in August, I had to bite the bullet and get an interest-free line of credit to pay my cat’s vet bills.  If we still had had our emergency fund in place, this would not have happened.  But, my cat’s important, and so, nearly sick to my stomach, I signed my name to the dotted line.  It’s not a big bill, one I could easily pay off with less than two month’s pay from my online job, and just like that, that annoyance would be wiped off our debt snowball.

But Winter is coming.

Winter means less work for Peter, which means less money for the house.  Winter means higher electric bills.  With Winter coming, we need every last dime we can get now.  It’s no good wiping out this one bill if we’re struggling to pay our bills in January or finding 30 different ways to make beans and rice in February.

So, despite my disgust over having to add to our debt snowball because of stupidity and my strong desire to wipe that debt out of existence, I have to be patient.  I have to stay with Dave’s program, because for twenty years, it’s worked for millions of people, so I’m just going to go out on a limb here and believe (as I truly do) that Dave probably knows what he’s talking about and do it his way.

I’m not going to say something heretical or blasphemous, like Dave’s way is God‘s way (imagine me saying that in a really deep, sonorous, authoritative voice).  However, Financial Peace University is based off of sound, old-fashioned, biblical principles, so it would be fairly accurate to say that God’s way is Dave’s way.  And this way is my way as I take steps to protect my family.

For Winter is coming.

Leave a Reply

