We Are God’s Masterpieces

Sit back in your chair for a moment.  Look at that picture.  Isn’t it refreshing and relaxing?  I bet if you closed your eyes, you’d be able to hear the soft pitter-patter of rain hitting those leaves.  Now, as you stare at the picture, I want you to tell yourself, “I am God‘s masterpiece, created by him to do great things.”

Our pastor began a sermon series today on Ephesians 2:10, from which this passage comes.  It really spoke to me, this idea that God created me to be a masterpiece, something unique and beautiful.  In Psalms (135, I think), we can read that we are fearfully and wonderfully made, that God Godself knit us together just right.   What’s this “just right”?  For me, it means that I was given the gift of pastoral care, the gift of teaching (though the necessary patience is harder to come by) and the strength of motherhood.  God made me to be creative, which I express through my soapmaking, and God made me special.  God don’t make junk!

Now, sit back and say to yourself, “I am God’s masterpiece.”  Say it as many times as it takes for you to embrace this truth for yourself.

Leave a Reply

